“Going Wodwo”

“Going Wodwo”

So here it is.  What it is I’m not quite sure yet but it’s a start of something.  What I can only assume it will be is the stories, thoughts, lessons learned and growing pains of nearly 40 years in this bag of bones, cells and water.  This, being my 40th year on planet earth, I have found myself trying to make sense of all that has come before this point, and in turn, what now?  It would seem that the past 4 decades were a test run of sorts, a pathway of trial and error through the woods of my life.  (More on that in a minute)  But it’s at this point I find myself questioning… now what?  Where do I go from here?  What do I truly want to be doing with my time? My life? My hands and my mind?  The easiest answer, the quick answer… going wodwo!  If you don’t know of the term it is old.  It comes from a long history of folklore and holds great power for me.  Simplest terms it’s the power of the wilderness taking hold of the man.  It’s the man becoming part of the wilderness itself.  Think Green Man.  Neil Gaiman one of my favorite writers wrote a poem called “Going Wodwo”.  But today’s plan is not to grow green leafy things from my flesh!  Today’s plan is to do one more thing today to get to where I want to be tomorrow.  So that’s it.  That’s my start for today.  I’m going to continue this because it’s the closest to writing I have been in a few years, and truth be told…. I miss it.

Oh, the path in my woods earlier…..  I believe we are all walking our own paths in our own woods.  It’s a mystical place, it’s whatever you want it to be at any moment in time.  My path travels through many different flora.  But through this wood I walk, many paths cross it.  Those paths are all of yours.  Some of your paths join with mine and we travel together for a time.  Some longer than others.  Some are just a brief meeting and we part ways again.  All of your paths are important as you all have something important for me to learn and vice versa.  We come to junctions and we have choices to make.  I like my woods!  And perhaps that is what this blog is about, the path.  

Image

Leave a Reply

