The Cowboy in Me

Wow!  It’s apparently been awhile.  I could give you the run down of everything that’s been going on, but you probably can find a better way to fall asleep and most likely would have less nightmares.  Bottom line I’m still trying to figure it all out myself.  I haven’t come to to many conclusion about this 42 thing.  I stumble and fall down and try to pick myself up again and I think my knees have taken too much of a beating.  But what I am learning is that every time I make a mistake I learn something truly important.   It forces me to step back and really take a look at what’s important.  The things I don’t intend to forget but somehow have.  God how do we get to the point that we forget what truly matters, that we take it for granted and lose sight of what we cherish.  I’ve made some poor choices, and one in particularly as opened my eyes quite a bit.  I heard a line in a song today that I haven’t heard in a long time.  It’s by Tim McGraw.  I was never a big fan but I remembered this song and it was playing today when I got out of work.  “I’ve got a life that most would love to have, but sometimes I still wake up fighting mad, at where this road I’m heading down might lead… I guess that’s just the cowboy in me. The urge to run the restlessness, the heart of stone I sometimes get, the things I’ve done for foolish pride, the me that’s never satisfied. The face that’s in the mirror when I don’t like what I see.  I guess that’s just the cowboy in me.”  There aren’t too many song lyrics out there that can really nail something down for me, or in this case nail me down.   Those words just put into a simple song what I couldn’t see, or what I refused to see.  Maybe I just wasn’t ready to see it yet.   But now I do and I have to take the responsibility for that “cowboy in me”.  And what do I start to come out of this with…. I want to laugh longer, I want to love deeper and I want to live slower.  I feel like I’m waking up from a very long sleep and I’m a little groggy and a little unsure.  But I know right where I want to be.

So… running.  Last week I was able to run with my awesome inspiring running fiend wife in the Wegmans Family 5k on Sunday.  It was my first official run ever!  I was so nervous about it as my running as been really lacking as of lately.  But I felt great once we got started and I was so happy to run with my wife.  We haven’t done that before and I have never run with anyone before because well I’m new to this and I didn’t know what I was missing.  I really enjoyed running with her more than just running in the event.   I even realized I can talk while running!!  I finish the 5k and was so happy to cross that line!  I felt like I really accomplished something.  I’ve run 5k’s, I know I can do it, but this event really did it for me.  So what did we do, we went and ran the Color Run 5k 6 days later!  That was really fun. I’d like to do one of those again.  It’s the Happiest 5k on the planet after all.  It was all about the outfits and just having fun.  This time I finished again but the excitement wasn’t quite the same as my first!  But again I really enjoyed running with my wife.  I think running with someone pushes me a little more where when I run alone, meh!  So all in all I ran 2 5ks in 6 days and had a blast doing it.  I’m really looking forward to another one but I don’t know when that will be.  I’m also volunteering to go support and encourage the Sehgahunda Trail Series in Letchworth.  25 miles of trail running.  Talk about inspiring!

Anyways, that’s enough out of me.  I really need to get to bed for an exceptionally early start tomorrow.

After the Color Run
After the Color Run
Leave a Reply

