Hey friend! Sorry, it’s me not you.

WordPress tells me it’s been eight months since I’ve spilled my coffee on the keyboard.  Fortunately I have a new keyboard attached to a laptop that has not felt the heat of a Mexican or Arabica coffee bath.

So what happened in these last eight months?  That’s a good question.   First and foremost off shift work happened.  Yep, you may remember I became a member of the graveyard shift.   That had a set of challenges but it also had some benefits.  I learned a lot about what I do, and when my more creative portions of the day are.  I set out to do a couple things and started working on some of them.  Others found themselves left in the shadows.   What I really found was that I became a complete recluse.  Towards the end of that journey I became more detached from the rest of the world, and just preferred to stay in my own.   Don’t misunderstand, I really enjoyed my time at work, I still do.  I also enjoyed my time in the late afternoons staying home before work.  My mornings, so to speak, became a time of quiet, and coffee, and practicing the guitar on the veranda in the warm evening sun.  But then winter came, and a darkness seemed to envelop all of my time.

In February I was asked to move to a new shift.  There are reasons behind their asking that I won’t get into, but they were positive nonetheless.  So my time structure has changed significantly.

The graveyard shift, I thought, has a tendency to create a feeling of loneliness.  Especially on the weekends.  I lost contact with friends for long stretches.  I thought moving to a new shift would just eradicate that but what I have found was that it was a lot more of me.  I’m still struggling to reach out again.  To make your acquaintance, to say “sorry its been so long….how have you been?”

Yeah the loneliness is still there but it’s getting better.   Yet I find myself still not wanting to leave the house in the mornings, before I leave for work in the early afternoon.

I found a group of adults on MEETUP that do late morning hikes during the week.  I think I’m going to commit to at least one day a week.

There have been so many changes in the last year that I don’t even know where to begin.  So I’m just taking it one step at a time, and maybe I’ll try a little more to see how you’re doing, and if you want to get lunch during the week!!

Today  I am glad to see the buds on the lilacs in the yard, and krokuses (kroki?) budding.  Summer is coming.

Leave a Reply

